top of page

Journal 7: Profile Pre-reading

Step One:

What I think about the saying "If you want to write about mankind, write about a man" means that in a group you can pull someone out and it will represent the whole group. Like for an example, you can get someone from a school club and ask questions, that one person you pulled out will represent the whole club.

Step Two:

If I had to guess what a "profile" is I would say it is most likely is a person's outline. It can also be a summary of a person, thing, resume, a person's specific background or experience in a person's personal life.

Step Three:

People who I find the most interesting are Demi Lovato, Alicia, and my older sister.

Step Four:

Demi Lovato is a 24 year old pop singer, actress, songwriter, model, author and philanthropist. She recently suffered depression, eating disorder, and self harm, in which started when she was a little kid and evolved while she was growing up. She has five albums who were at the top 10 when they came out. She is a successful role model and outspoken person when it comes out to what she truly believes in, like gay rights. The reason why I am interested in Demi is because I practically grew up with her, I saw movies, shows and saw her on the news as well as heard her in the radio.

Step Five:

I think what makes an effective profile of a person are:

Description/Detail

Tone- story like quality

Anecdotes

Strong focus on what makes a person interesting

Organization

Reasons: famous, quality, event

Step Six:

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/03/06/elizabeth-bishops-art-of-losing

Step Seven:

I found it interesting because Elizabeth started her life with the death of her father, whom she does not remember because she was a little baby when she lost him. It is Elizabeth's life and struggles throughout he life. What is done well is the way it caught my attention, the writer started with a somewhat negative way.

Step Eight:

The question I need to consider are:

What has an interesting story?

Why must their story be told?

Will this story be interesting to other?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page